You are reading
The Commonwealth Games: Wales Announce Gold Coast Games Hockey Teams

The Commonwealth Games: Wales Announce Gold Coast Games Hockey Teams

Team Atmo Avatar
0SharesShare on FacebookTweet this
GB women's hockey team
The women's teams have been placed against England, India and Malaysia. They will be also facing South Africa in Pool A whilst the men will go up against Pakistan in Pool B.

According to the BBC, Wales have now listed the men's and women's hockey teams for the coming month's Gold Coast Commonwealth Games. 

The qualifiers were confirmed in December after each of the teams both reached the top 10 in the newest Commonwealth rankings.

This is only the second instance wherein both of the teams have qualified for the Games since 1998. The event will be held at the Gold Coast.

The new captain, Leah Wilkinson, will be heading the women's team and Luke Hawker and Lewis Prosser will be sharing leadership for the men's squad.

GB men's hockey team
The men's team are placed in Pool B next to India, England, Malaysia and Pakistan.

The matches will occur between the 5th and 15th April in the Gold Coast Hockey Centre.

The women finished an impressive fourth at the EuroHockey B Division Championships, Cardiff, while the men attained promotion to European hockey's highest division in 2017 and ascended in the most recent world rankings.

Welsh Hockey Teams:

Men: Lewis Prosser (Surbiton), Luke Hawker (Cardiff & Met), David Kettle (Teddington) James Fortnam (Cardiff & Met), Jacob Draper Cardiff & Met), Dale Hutchinson (Reading), Rhys Gowan (Cardiff & Met), Dan Kyriakides (Reading), James Kyriakides (Southgate), Alf Dinnie (Cardiff & Met), Ben Francis (Reading), Gareth Furlong (Cardiff & Met), Hywel Jones (University of Birmingham), Rupert Shipperley (Hamstead & Westminster), Jonny Gooch (Hamstead & Westminster), Steve Kelly (Hamstead & Westminster), Owain Dolan Gray (Reading), James Carson (Reading).

Women: Leah Wilkinson (Holcombe), Sian French (Bowdon Hightown), Rose Thomas (Holcombe), Ella Jackson (Buckingham), Julie Whiting (Bowdon Hightown, Natasha Marke-Jones (Clifton Robinsons), Sophie Clayton (Clifton Robinsons), Sarah Jones (Holcombe), Lisa Daley (Clifton Robinsons), Phoebe Richards (Buckingham), Tina Evans (unattached), Dannielle Jordan (Buckingham), Eloise Laity (Buckingham), Beth Bingham (Holcombe), Izzie Howell (Neston), Delyth Thomas (University of Birmingham), Xenna Hughes (East Grinstead), Jo Westwood (Holcombe).

Stay Updated

Get the recent popular stories straight into your inbox!